Skip to content

CLICK HERE to learn more about our Distance Learning program.

Distance Learning will be continuing through April 30, 2020



Video - April 6, 2020

Distance Learning FAQ

  • How do students log in to their account?

    • Students should use their password to access their Veracross student account.
    • Students who have difficulty logging into their accounts should email veracross@brentwoodacademy.com for assistance with the log-in process.

  • How will classes operate and how do I turn in my assignments?

    • Classes will operate in line with our A-day / B-day schedule. Assignments will be posted and teachers will respond to student questions during scheduled class times, such as 7:45-9:20 AM for a B1 class. Teachers also will be available to help and answer questions most afternoons. The A/B designation for all class days is shown on the class website calendar on Veracross.
    • Teachers will host online meetings in real time during scheduled class periods. When they do, students will be sent a link to join these meetings. Students will be able to work on most assignments at any time, anywhere, individually, with work due the next class period.
    • Assignments will be communicated through Veracross or an email from your student’s teacher. Be sure that students are checking both.
    • To review a copy of the daily class schedule, click MS Schedule or US Schedule

  • How will attendance be taken?

    • Student attendance will be based on timely responses and submission of work.
    • Students will be required to make some response to their teacher on each class day.

  • What is the best way to communicate with my teacher?

    • You may reach your teacher via email to ask questions or to request a voice to voice conversation.
    • Teachers may arrange video conferencing via Zoom in order to have a dialogue with your students. Downloading the Zoom application ahead of time will help students join the first meeting promptly. Students are not required to have a Zoom account and can join classes using the links sent from the teacher.

  • How do I submit homework assignments?

    • Teachers may direct students to turn in assignments in a few different ways. These include sending an email attachment, using Turnitin.com, or uploading files to Veracross.

  • Will Academic Support (E3) and Middle School Academic Two-a-Days be available online?

    E3: Evening Education Empowerment and Academic Two-a-Days will now take on a new role in the digital world: Every day Education Empowerment. Students/parents can submit a request to the Student Academic Support (SAS) office by filling out the Academic Intake Form on the Academic Support webpage. The request will be routed to their classroom teacher(s) who will address the issues, and if added help is needed the teacher will submit the recommendations to the SAS office and the office will direct the recommendations to the proper staff for a scheduled tutorial time.

    Academic Support
  • Who do I contact with questions about AP Exams?

    Our AP Coordinator, Shelley Miller, will be happy to address any questions you have about exam payment, dates, times, format and more. She can be reached at shelley_miller@brentwoodacademy.com.

  • Who do I contact with questions about the College Admission Process?

    Our College Counseling Office is ready and eager to help all students. Whether you are a senior with questions about choosing a college or enrolling in your chosen school, a junior inquiring about SAT and ACT tests or visiting college campuses, our counselors are ready to connect via email, phone or even zoom. Please email our College Counselors Shelley Miller or Courtney Williams to engage in these important conversations.

    shelley_miller@brentwoodacademy.com

    courtney_williams@brentwoodacademy.com

  • Will Weekly Remote Athletic Training be Available?

    Middle School Remote Athletic Training-Week 3

    Welcome to Week 3 of Remote Athletic Training at Brentwood Academy. Click HERE for the workout for this week and two accompanying videos. Coach Sutton has included two interesting-sounding challenges; "playing card" challenge and "spell your name" challenge. Enjoy these challenges this week. 

    Upper School Remote Athletic Training-Week 3

    Welcome to Week 3 of Remote Athletic Training at Brentwood Academy. Click HERE for the workout for this week and an accompanying video for an interesting-sounding challenge, the "playing card" challenge. Coach Sutton designed this video for the middle school too, so although the intro specifically addresses middle schoolers, he intended this for you too.  Enjoy the challenge this week. 

     

    Spring sport coaches may have already provided remote workout plans to their teams. In such case, you can substitute that plan for these provided here. Please feel free to contact Coach Sutton or Coach White if you have questions.

  • Where do I find emotional and social resources for my child?

    The student support team has launched a blog with parent and student resources. These resources are meant to support the emotional and social health of our BA students and families. Click HERE to visit the student support webpage where you can read our new blog. If you have any specific needs or questions please contact Alyssa Hall or Cookie Newton at alyssa_hall@brentwoodacademy.com or cookie_newton@brentwoodacademy.com.

  • Will parent Bible studies continue?

    Most Bible studies will take place via Zoom. Please contact your grade level leader for the Zoom link. Leaders can be found on the BA Moms’ Bible Studies page of the website. 

    If you have never participated, it’s not too late!

    6th Grade: TBD

    7th Grade: Thursday from 12:30-1:15 PM

    8th Grade: TBD

    9th Grade: Monday from 1:30-2:15 PM

    10th Grade: Wednesday from 12:00-12:45 PM

    11th Grade: Wednesday from 11:30 AM-1:00 PM

    12th Grade: Thursday from 9:30-10:30 AM

     

    If you’re interested in joining a weekly prayer group via GroupMe, please contact Amy Butler at atb326@yahoo.com.

  • What is proper Zoom etiquette for students?

    Proper Zoom Etiquette for Students:

    1. Be on time to each Zoom session you attend. 
    2. Develop a designated place to work (excluding bed) that is free from distractions.
    3. Avoid distracting activities such as eating, using your cell phone or doing anything that might distract others.
    4. Be appropriately dressed to interact with others in a professional environment. 
    5. Do NOT record or post any part of a Zoom class on social media. Respect the privacy of your instructor and your classmates.

  • Whom do I contact for different needs?

    Technology: Email veracross@brentwoodacademy.com

    Christian Life: Rian Berger rian_berger@brentwoodacademy.com

    Emotional Support and Resources: Alyssa Hall alyssa_hall@brentwoodacademy.com or Cookie Newton cookie_newton@brentwoodacademy.com

    College Counseling: Shelley Miller shelley_miller@brentwoodacademy.com or Courtney Williams at courtney_williams@brentwoodacademy.com

    Business Office: Jason Oggs
    jason_oggs@brentwoodacademy.com

    Athletics:

     School Leadership:

    Academic Department Chairs:
    Math Chair – Bonnie Hall bonnie_hall@brentwoodacademy.com

    Fine Arts – Jenny Oldham jenny_oldham@brentwoodacademy.com 

    English – Cameron Phillips cameron_phillips@brentwoodacademy.com

    History – Mike Vazquez mike_vazquez@brentwoodacademy.com

    Science – Jeff Bryant jeff_bryant@brentwoodacademy.com

    World Languages – Molly Martin molly_martin@brentwoodacademy.com

    Religion – Rian Berger rian_berger@brentwoodacademy.com

    ---

    6th Chair – Jennifer Ann Clark jenniferann_clark@brentwoodacademy.com

    7th Chair – Tim Reid tim_reid@brentwoodacademy.com

    8th Chair - Warren Bezuidenhout warren_bezuidenhout@brentwoodacademy.com

    9th Chair – Cookie Newton cookie_newton@brentwoodacademy.com

    10th Chair – Shannon Frost shannon_frost@brentwoodacademy.com

    11th Chair – Paul Battaglia paul_battaglia@brentwoodacademy.com

    12th  Chair – Brad Perry brad_perry@brentwoodacademy.com



SEE ALL VIDEOS

Virtual Chapel 4/1/2020

See all videos


Start Here Request Info Apply

My BA Story

Clay Huddleston

Class of 2011 | Senate Foreign Relations Committee

Play Video

Lauren Pickens

Class of 2019 | American University

Play Video