Skip to content

CLICK HERE to learn more about our Distance Learning program.




Distance Learning FAQ

  • How do students log in to their account?

    • Students should use their password to access their Veracross student account.
    • Students who have difficulty logging into their accounts should email veracross@brentwoodacademy.com for assistance with the log-in process.

  • How will classes operate and how do I turn in my assignments?

    • Classes will operate in line with our A-day / B-day schedule. Assignments will be posted and teachers will respond to student questions during scheduled class times, such as 7:45-9:20 AM for a B1 class. Teachers also will be available to help and answer questions most afternoons. The A/B designation for all class days is shown on the class website calendar on Veracross.
    • Teachers will host online meetings in real time during scheduled class periods. When they do, students will be sent a link to join these meetings. Students will be able to work on most assignments at any time, anywhere, individually, with work due the next class period.
    • Assignments will be communicated through Veracross or an email from your student’s teacher. Be sure that students are checking both.
    • To review a copy of the daily class schedule, click MS Schedule or US Schedule

  • How will attendance be taken?

    • Student attendance will be based on timely responses and submission of work.
    • Students will be required to make some response to their teacher on each class day.

  • What is the best way to communicate with my teacher?

    • You may reach your teacher via email to ask questions or to request a voice to voice conversation.
    • Teachers may arrange video conferencing via Zoom in order to have a dialogue with your students. Downloading the Zoom application ahead of time will help students join the first meeting promptly. Students are not required to have a Zoom account and can join classes using the links sent from the teacher.

  • How do I submit homework assignments?

    • Teachers may direct students to turn in assignments in a few different ways. These include sending an email attachment, using Turnitin.com, or uploading files to Veracross.

  • Will Academic Support (E3) and Middle School Academic Two-a-Days be available online?

    E3: Evening Education Empowerment and Academic Two-a-Days will now take on a new role in the digital world: Every day Education Empowerment. Students/parents can submit a request to the Student Academic Support (SAS) office by filling out the Academic Intake Form on the Academic Support webpage. The request will be routed to their classroom teacher(s) who will address the issues, and if added help is needed the teacher will submit the recommendations to the SAS office and the office will direct the recommendations to the proper staff for a scheduled tutorial time.

    Academic Support
  • What is proper Zoom etiquette for students?

    Proper Zoom Etiquette for Students:

    1. Be on time to each Zoom session you attend. 
    2. Develop a designated place to work (excluding bed) that is free from distractions.
    3. Avoid distracting activities such as eating, using your cell phone or doing anything that might distract others.
    4. Be appropriately dressed to interact with others in a professional environment. 
    5. Do NOT record or post any part of a Zoom class on social media. Respect the privacy of your instructor and your classmates.

  • Where do I find emotional and social resources for my child?

    BA's student support team is working with our communication department to launch a blog for parent and student resources. The blog will become live later this week. Please check back soon to find the link. If you have any specific needs or questions, please contact Alyssa Hall or Cookie Newton at alyssa_hall@brentwoodacademy.com or cookie_newton@brentwoodacademy.com.

  • Are there suggestions to keep students active during Distance Learning?

    Coach Mark Sutton has written a 3-day workout program for middle school students that can be done at home without the need for weights. We have included a video for each day to demonstrate these exercises. Click HERE to access the folder with workouts. Please contact Coach Sutton at mark_sutton@brentwoodacademy.com or Coach White at cody_white@brentwoodacademy.com with any questions.

    Coach Mark Sutton has written two workout programs for upper school students that can be done remotely.  One is a program that will not require weights or equipment.  The other is for those who might have equipment or weights at their disposal. This is for all our students regardless of whether or not they are a varsity athlete. Coach Sutton has provided three demonstration videos for the "weightless" program. These workout documents and video are included in a Google Documents folder that can be accessed by clicking HERE.

    Spring sport coaches may have already provided remote workout plans to their teams. In such case, you can substitute that plan for these provided here. Please feel free to contact Coach Sutton or Coach White if you have questions.

  • Will parent Bible studies continue?

    Bible study leaders will be in touch with their groups. If you have never participated, it’s not too late. Please contact your group leader. You may find your grade level leader on the BA Moms’ Bible Studies page of the website.

  • Whom do I contact for different needs?

    Technology: Email veracross@brentwoodacademy.com

    Christian Life: Rian Berger rian_berger@brentwoodacademy.com

    Emotional Support and Resources: Alyssa Hall alyssa_hall@brentwoodacademy.com or Cookie Newton cookie_newton@brentwoodacademy.com

    College Counseling: Shelley Miller shelley_miller@brentwoodacademy.com or Courtney Williams at courtney_williams@brentwoodacademy.com

    Business Office: Jason Oggs
    jason_oggs@brentwoodacademy.com

    Athletics:

     School Leadership:

    Academic Department Chairs:
    Math Chair – Bonnie Hall bonnie_hall@brentwoodacademy.com

    Fine Arts – Jenny Oldham jenny_oldham@brentwoodacademy.com 

    English – Cameron Phillips cameron_phillips@brentwoodacademy.com

    History – Mike Vazquez mike_vazquez@brentwoodacademy.com

    Science – Jeff Bryant jeff_bryant@brentwoodacademy.com

    World Languages – Molly Martin molly_martin@brentwoodacademy.com

    Religion – Rian Berger rian_berger@brentwoodacademy.com

    ---

    6th Chair – Jennifer Ann Clark jenniferann_clark@brentwoodacademy.com

    7th Chair – Tim Reid tim_reid@brentwoodacademy.com

    8th Chair - Warren Bezuidenhout warren_bezuidenhout@brentwoodacademy.com

    9th Chair – Cookie Newton cookie_newton@brentwoodacademy.com

    10th Chair – Shannon Frost shannon_frost@brentwoodacademy.com

    11th Chair – Paul Battaglia paul_battaglia@brentwoodacademy.com

    12th  Chair – Brad Perry brad_perry@brentwoodacademy.com



SEE ALL VIDEOS
See all videos


Start Here Request Info Apply

My BA Story

Clay Huddleston

Class of 2011 | Senate Foreign Relations Committee

Play Video

Lauren Pickens

Class of 2019 | American University

Play Video