Faculty Directory



Dr. Tom Cox named the 2023 Clyde E. Swift Faculty Award winner.

“Dr. Tom Cox is the 2023 winner of Brentwood Academy’s Clyde E. Swift Faculty Award. This award is given to the faculty member, with at least three years of service, who encourages students to set the highest standard of academic work; demonstrates proficiency in their subject; communicates effectively with students; and possesses a cooperative spirit regarding the mission of the school. 

In the words of Upper School Director Andy Bradshaw, “Dr. Cox is what we all look for in a Brentwood Academy faculty member. Dr. Cox is one of the most liked and respected members of our faculty. He has a great command of his subject area of honors and AP biology and the wonderful ability to convey it in a way that students not only understand, but moreover excites them to pursue, learn, and study further. Dr. Cox has served in leadership at the National Association of Biology Teachers as vice president and president. He has been a reader for the AP exams and has worked for the National Math and Science Initiative as an AP biology consultant.  

Dr. Cox disciples others through his teaching, coaching, daily interactions, and conversations. Students seek him out to talk about his faith and their own. Before coming to Brentwood Academy, Dr. Cox served as a pastor. His understanding of God’s word and his understanding of God’s work has been instrumental in encouraging students in their faith and their studies. He is a wonderful example of living out the mission of our school and the ministry of Brentwood Academy. Congratulations, Dr. Tom Cox.”